R07 Monza - Race Report

23 October 2017

Foto 1 - R07 Monza - Race Report
Here comes title number 5. By concluding an amazing season with a podium finish, Marcus Armstrong secured the Italian Formula 4 Championship driver crown at the end of race 1 of the 2017 season finale at Monza. Starting from pole, the New Zealander stayed in command at the start and focused on not making mistakes. Right after a safety-car situation, he dropped down to P2 where he remained until the final stages celebrating an amazing early title win. 

Then, after securing a points finish starting from the back due to an issue in qualifying, he fought hard in race 3. Despite crossing the finishing line in P1, he was penalized for a racing contact while battling with another driver. In the end, the Ferrari Driver Academy racer emerged once again as one of the most outstanding prospects in racing in terms of results and consistency. 

More positive results came from fellow FDA man Enzo Fittipaldi. The young Brazilian captured two points finishes including a brilliant fifth place in race 3, wrapping up an ever-improving first full season in single seaters.

# 9 - Marcus Armstrong
“Good weekend in Monza. Finally, we wrapped up the championship after a very eventful season. I'm glad that I can repay my crew for all the effort they put in this year! Race 3 was also a fun race for me. We had nothing to lose, we won it but unfortunately got given a 25-second penalty for something we don't agree with. All in all, a fantastic weekend for everyone. I want to give a big thank you to my Ferrari Driver Academy guys. The support has been awesome. It’s fantastic to bring home another championship for the team.”

# 74 - Enzo Fittipaldi
“This race weekend I learned a lot about the techniques and strategies you have to use during the races here in Monza. You had to be very precise when making a decision and when to overtake. It was a good end to the season. I am really looking forward to next season!”

Foto 2 - R07 Monza - Race Report

Mercedes-Benz Ravenol Sparco Brembo Koni Nissens