PREMA Racing was founded in 1983 by Angelo Rosin and Giorgio Piccolo. From 1994, as a consequence of changes within the company, with the transformation into Prema Powerteam the Team's activities increased at an international level.
Nowadays, PREMA is one of Europe's leading international racing teams.
It is in fact the third Italian Team (after F1 Teams: Ferrari and Toro Rosso) based on the Team's dimension, importance and Championships in which it participates.

Since its foundation it has favored the inclusion of young drivers, focusing on developing and enhancing their talents and skills in order to help them reach the highest echelons of the sport.
Very important groups, such as the multinational tobacco company Camel, the Government of Macao (China), Autobacs and in recent years Honda, Toyota, Renault F1, Mercedes, Ferrari and Lotus F1 have chosen to support PREMA to help their drivers on the way to racing success.
The team's tasks are not limited to just the tuning and set up of its racing vehicles; it also aims to deliver the complete training of each driver, from the development of technical knowledge to the improvement of physical fitness.

From 2000 to 2007 PREMA was chosen as a partner for the TDP – Toyota Young Drivers Program, further testament to PREMA's highly professional and first-rate work. The team, on behalf of Toyota, competed in different championships, aiming to develop new drivers for the program.
In 2007-2008-2011-2012 and 2013 HWA Mercedes placed their drivers within PREMA in order to compete in F3 Euro Series/FIA Formula 3 European Championship.
In 2007, Renault F1 chose to collaborate with PREMA through Ben Hanley's participation in World Series by Renault within the Team.
In 2008, 2009, 2010 and 2011 PREMA also lined up Joves Pilots Drivers for the Circuit of Catalunya.
In 2011, 2012, 2013 and 2014 PREMA also added Ferrari to the list of important groups with FDA drivers racing within the Team in the Formula 3 and Formula Renault 2.0 Championships.
In 2014, Lotus F1 chose to line place Esteban Ocon within PREMA in the FIA Formula 3 European Championship.
In 2016, Williams F1 Development Driver Lance Stroll will contest the FIA Formula 3 European Championship with PREMA.
In 2016, Red Bull Racing chooses PREMA for their reserve driver Pierre Gasly and his participation in the GP2 Series.


Alcuni dei risultati più significativi:

  • Formula 3 – Italian Champions with Roberto Colciago (ITA-1990), Donny Crevels (NED-1998) and Peter Sundberg (SWE-1999)
  • Formula Renault 2.0 Italia Champions with Ryan Briscoe (AUS-2001), Franck Perera (FRA-2003) e Kamui Kobayashi (JPN-2005)
  • Formula Renault 2.0 Eurocup Champions with Kamui Kobayashi (JPN-2005)
  • Formula 3 Euro Series Driver Champions in 2003 with Ryan Briscoe (AUS), in 2011 with Roberto Merhi (SPA) an in 2012 with Daniel Juncadella (SPA)
  • Formula 3 Euro Series Team Champions in 2011 and 2012
  • FIA F3 International Trophy 2011 Champions (Roberto Merhi – SPA)
  • FIA Formula 3 European Driver Champions with Daniel Juncadella (SPA) in 2012, with Raffaele Marciello (ITA) in 2013, with Esteban Ocon (FRA) in 2014 and with Felix Rosenqvist (SWE) in 2015
  • FIA Formula 3 European Team Champions in 2012, 2013, 2014 and 2015
  • Italian F3 European Series Driver Champions with Eddie Cheever in 2012
  • Italian F3 European Series Team Champions in 2012
  • Trofeo Nazionale CSAI Formula 3 Team Champions in 2012
  • Formula Abarth Team Champions in 2010
  • Formula Renault 2.0 ALPS Team Champions in 2013
  • Formula Renault 2.0 ALPS Driver Champions with Antonio Fuoco (ITA), 2nd with Luca Ghiotto (ITA) and 3rd with Bruno Bonifacio (BRA) in 2013
  • Italian Formula 4 Team Champions in 2014 & 2015
  • Italian Formula 4 Driver Champions with Lance Stroll (CAN) in 2014 and Ralf Aron (EST) in 2015


Alcuni dei piazzamenti più significativi:

  • International Races – Formula 3 Victory - Monaco Grand Prix in 1989 (Antonio Tamburini-ITA) and 1995 (Gianantonio Pacchioni-ITA)
  • Macau Grand Prix Victory in 2011 with Daniel Juncadella (SPA), in 2013 with Alex Lynn (GBR) and in 2015 with Felix Rosenqvist (SWE) and 3rd classified in 2001, 2003 and 2010
  • Masters of Formula 3 - Zandvoort Victory with Daniel Juncadella (SPA) in 2012 - 2nd classified with Raffaele Marciello in 2012 – 3rd classified in 2009 with Stefano Coletti and in 2003 with Ryan Briscoe
  • F3 Bahrain Super Prix Pole Position – 2004 (Franck Perera – FRA)
  • World Series by Renault Championship 2007 2° Classified - (Ben Hanley - GBR)
  • World Series by Renault Championship 2008 4° Classified - (Miguel Molina - SPA)
  • Formula 3 Euro Series 2008 4° Classified - (Renger Van der Zande - NL)
  • FIA Formula 3 European Best Rookie with Esteban Ocon (FRA) in 2014, 2nd classified in 2012 with Raffaele Marciello (ITA), 3rd classified in 2013 with Alex Lynn (GBR) and in 2015 with Jake Dennis (GBR)
  • Formula 3 Italia 2011 Best Rookie (Michael Lewis - USA), 2° Classified in 2011 with Michael Lewis and 3° Classified with Raffaele Marciello in 2011 and Andrea Caldarelli in 2010
  • Formula Abarth European Series 2nd Classified in 2012 with Luca Ghiotto and 3rd Classified in 2012 with Bruno Bonifacio
  • Formula ACI CSAI Abarth 2nd Classified with Luca Ghiotto in 2012
  • Italian Formula 4 2nd classified with Guan Yu Zhou (CHN) in 2015

Mercedes-Benz Ravenol Sparco Brembo Koni Nissens